## **THE BIOTECH GROWTH TRUST PLC (the "Company")**

## **Board of Directors**

The Board of The Biotech Growth Trust PLC is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Dame Kay Davies and Mr Andrew Joy as independent non-executive Directors of the Company, with immediate effect.

Professor Dame Kay Davies is the Dr Lee's Professor of Anatomy and Associate Head of the Medical Sciences Division at the University of Oxford and a fellow of Hertford College. She is director of the MRC Functional Genomics Unit at Oxford and a governor of the Wellcome Trust.

Mr Joy is one of the founder Partners of Cinven Limited where he was a member of the Executive Committee and remains a member the Portfolio Review Committee which oversees all of Cinven's investments. He has also been the main point of contact for Cinven's investors. Mr Joy was formerly a Director of Hill Samuel Bank and Managing Director of Hill Samuel Development Capital.

The Chairman of The Biotech Growth Trust PLC, John Sclater, commented:

"My fellow Directors and I are delighted to welcome Dame Kay Davies and Andrew Joy to the Board. They both have extensive and relevant expertise and a strong interest in the biotechnology sector. They will enhance the Board's breadth and depth of experience."

Their appointment will be proposed to shareholders for ratification at the Annual General Meeting of the Company to be held in July 2012.

There is no further information to be disclosed under Listing Rule 9.6.13R(2) to (6).

The Board further announces that Mr John Sclater, CVO, the Chairman of the Company, will retire at the conclusion of the forthcoming Annual General Meeting. He will be succeeded as Chairman by Lord Waldegrave of North Hill.

- ENDS-

For further information please contact:

Mark Pope Frostrow Capital LLP

020 3 008 4913